EN CN

Media Report

Exclusive Interview with the Chairman | Yang Le of Jinhe Industrial: Writing “National Sweet Plan” with Sugar-free

Date:2019-09-04 Views:2741

Source: Shanghai Securities News


Sidney Mintz, the “father of anthropology of food”, pointed out in his book Sweetness and Power: The Place of Sugar in Modern History published in 1985 that sucrose is a “double-dealer”: on the one hand, it’s an excellent calorie provider; on the other hand, it’s easy to induce various diseases due to excessive consumption caused by its addiction.

  

When people realized the harm of sugar, sugar substitute products came into being. In sweetener field, Jinhe Industrial is the leader all over the world in production capacity: with the annual output of 12,000t acesulfame, it is the absolute leader in the world. With the annual output of 3,000t sucralose, it ranks the 2nd in the world. Besides, it plans to invest in the 2nd-phase 5,000t project. If the production capacity can be reached successfully, it will become the first in the industry.

  

Yang Le, chairman of Jinhe Industrial, who just took over the heavy burden from his father a few months ago, signs his WeChat with the words “there will be no change in vicissitudes, infatuation, years and true love”, which is also an epitome of the development process of Jinhe Industrial: this global leader in sweetener field with a market value of over RMB 10 billion has undergone strategic adjustments and self-transformations for several times.

  

  “Happiness” is boundless in Blue Ocean

  

Last week, the senior vice president of Coca-Cola Headquarters just came here, hoping to consolidate our cooperative relationship further.” Speaking of this issue, Yang Le was very proud. Jinhe Industrial is the sweetener supplier of Coca-Cola. As long as you once drank Coke Zero or Coke Light of Coca-Cola, you have enjoyed the sugar-free sweet life created by Jinhe for you.

  

oca-Cola said in its semi-annual report which was just released that, thanks to its sugar-free products, the company realized double-digit sales growth worldwide again, and realized a net income of USD 10 billion in the 2nd quarter with an year-on-year growth of 6%.

  

From the perspective of manufacturer, the improvement of sweetener formula optimizes the taste and the cost of adding sweetener is also about 5% of sucrose on the premise of producing the same sweetness, so it has obvious cost advantage compared with sucrose. Take Coke as an example. The sugar content per 100ml is about 9g, and a 500ml bottle of Coke contains 45g sugar. Calculating based on the price of RMB 5.4 per kilogram of sucrose, the cost of adding sucrose to a 500ml bottle of Coke sold at a price of RMB 3 is about RMB 0.24, and the cost of sucrose accounts for 8% of the retail price. If sucralose is used as the sweet source, it only costs RMB 0.015, accounting for 0.5% of the retail price of Coke. Therefore, the sucralose has a significant cost advantage.

  

In 2012, when Yang Le returned to China after studying in the United States, there were few sugar-free and low-sugar products on the shelves of food and beverages in China, and there was also no sweetness seasoning available for replacing the sugar in coffee shops. 7 years have passed and the less-sugar awareness of domestic consumers is gradually increasing.

  

Coke is nicknamed ‘Happy Water for Fat Homebody’ on the Internet because traditional carbonated beverages have high sugar content, and the dopamine secreted under the stimulation of sucrose makes people happy and also makes people fat. Nowadays, many people who are slimming and keeping fit will list Coke as ‘forbidden product’. Sugar can be rejected, but who will reject dopamine?” Yang Le said with a smile. The consumers who still struggle to choose whole sugar, half sugar or one-third sugar for a cup of milk tea are exactly the Blue Ocean discovered by Jinhe.

  

Under the dual drive of the increase in consumer demand for low sugar intake and cost reduction of beverage and food manufacturers, the sweeteners will further replace sucrose and high fructose corn syrup. New-type sweeteners such as acesulfame and sucralose, which are competitive products of Jinhe Industrial, are expected to replace traditional sweeteners such as saccharin, sodium cyclamate, etc. step by step by virtue of their advantages of safety, being closer to sucrose in taste, etc. The subdivided industry has broad development prospects.

  

  “Sweetness” Enters Every Household

  

Yang Le hopes that Jinhe Industrial can move to the scene from the backstage to get closer to consumers. “Jinhe, a raw material supplier that was only engaged in food additives previously, has now crossed the intermediate link and entered the retail market to face the consumer end directly.”

  

LeSweet, a sweetness seasoning brand independently hatched by Jinhe Industrial, was launched on e-commerce platforms such as Taobao and JD.com in early July, which was featured by the concept of “0% sugar, 0% fat and 0% calorie”.

  

“Bring the sugar substitute products that do not bring “fat homebody” burden but only happiness to customers.” Yang Le introduced. The company has specially adjusted the product formula in consideration of the usage scenario of LeSweet and the use inertia of users: after thousands of the experiments by R&D team, the company compounds and uses the top raw materials at home and abroad, including erythritol, stevioside, sucralose, resistant dextrin, etc., and finally the sweetness ratio of LeSweet products and white sugar is 1:1, the taste is infinitely close to white granulated sugar, and there is no peculiar smell of traditional sugar substitute products. Such design has simplified the difficulty for users to iterate the sweet seasoning. The amount of white sugar used for stir-frying and baking in the past is the amount of LeSweet used now.

  

“We hope to be the first person to eat crabs in the domestic market, and not only sell healthy and safe sugar substitute products, but also expand users to lower classes and open up the market. We must also do a good job in consumer education related to sugar reduction so that the citizens have the right to choose “healthy sweetness.”

  

On July 15, 2019, the State Council released the Healthy China 2019-2030 development planning to encourage the whole society to “reduce salt, oil and sugar” and promote the construction of food nutrition standard system. In the opinion of Yang Le, with the guidance of relevant national policies, the sugar substitute retail industry has great potential.

  

According to the requirements of the Guideline: Sugar Intake for Adults and Children issued by the World Health Organization in 2015, the free sugar intake for adults and children should be reduced to less than 10% of the total energy, preferably less than 5%, which is about 25g per day after the conversion. At present, the per capita daily intake of white sugar in China is 50g-60g, far exceeding this standard.

  

In addition to the ordinary people who choose sugar substitute products in order to achieve the less-sugar index, the rigid demand of some diabetics for sweet food will also be satisfied. According to the data released by the United Nations World Health Organization at the end of 2018, there are about 110 million adult diabetics in China. On the user evaluation message board for online sale of LeSweet, many people say that they are diabetics or some people in their families are diabetics, and LeSweet makes them regain the sweet taste.

  

“Creating” a Broad World

  

He, also called millet, begins to grow in February and matures in August. It is in the four seasons and gains both yin and yang. Jinhe Industrial has been “fertilizing”, evolving and surpassing itself for a greater harvest.

  

In November 2017, the company signed the Framework Agreement on Jinhe Industrial Circular Economy Industrial Park Project with the Government of Dingyuan County in Chuzhou City to build a circular economy industrial park in Dingyuan Salt Chemical Industrial Park. At present, the cogeneration project with the annual output of 10,000t furfural, 40,000t thionyl chloride and 30MW biomass pyroelectricity has been completed in advance and entered the debugging stage. The production capacity will be further released before the end of the year. Later, the company will continuously build the project with the annual output of 10,000 furfural and its downstream product projects, and introduce 2 new spice varieties—furanone and galaxolide. The first EIA publicity has been carried out so far. After the projects are put into operation, sucralose and maltol of the company will form an upstream and downstream integrated industry chain, which will reduce the costs further. From the perspective of sucralose alone, the company will save more than 20% of the costs compared with its peers after further realizing the integration of industry chain on the basis of the original production technology and technological advantages.

  

The production of chemical products requires using acid and alkaline, and will generate hazardous wastes such as sodium chloride, etc. further. Sodium chloride, also known as waste salt, can only be used to fill mines generally. Jinhe Industrial can make the best use of the waste after purification by virtue of the optimization on industry chain and can also sell it to chemical fertilizer plants to create benefits. Although the supporting equipment costs a lot in the early stage, Yang Le indicates that the vision of the company is to produce “environmentally friendly and circular economy”.

  

For all the scenery, you should open your eyes to look at it. For the future development of the enterprise, Yang Le has its own plan—“first imitate and then catch up to become a leader. These three steps all require self-transformation.” And innovation is the key.

  

“I went to Japan in May and visited some chemical and material enterprises. One of them, UBE Industries, impressed me the most. It was a coal-mining enterprise at the earliest, then developed coal chemical engineering, extended its industry chain, produced bulk chemical raw materials, continuously carried out R&D and deepening, and upgraded the production of fine chemical products. Now it goes further and its revenues are mainly from electronic materials, including semiconductors and new energy electric alkali liquor.” Yang Le said. Jinhe started with chemical fertilizer and then “developed both fertilizer and chemical”, and grew steadily for a period. Around 2009, it concentrated on chemical industry, emphasized the coordinated development of basic chemical industry and fine chemical industry, and “left out the chemical fertilizer”. Benefiting from the strategic adjustment of improving the product structure, the company’s net profit attributable to its parent company increased from RMB 136 million in 2012 to RMB 910 million in 2018. “In the future, Jinhe Industrial will intensively cultivate the fine chemical industry, further deepen the basic chemical industry chain and increase the added value of products.”

  

In 2011, Jinhe Industrial increased its capital to Huaertai Chemical with RMB 270 million in cash. In May 2017, in order to reduce the proportion of basic chemical business, the company transferred 55% of the equity of Huaertai Chemical by RMB 340 million. The divestment of Huaertai has demonstrated the company’s determination to transform to fine chemical industry.

  

Yang Le told his R&D team, “I will take control of any risk and bear any responsibility. A small testing equipment imported from Japan values RMB 2 million. Though it’s expensive, just buy it! There may be an experiment that will not achieve any result for 3 years. It doesn’t matter, just do it!”

  

  “Everyone want flowers and applause! But for the sake of a longer-term future, I’m willing to expect and trust.” Yang Le said with his eyes full of firmness.

董事长专访 | 金禾实业杨乐: 以无糖书写“国民甜蜜计划”

发布日期:2019-09-04 浏览次数:2525

来源上海证券报


  “饮食人类学之父”西敏司(Sidney Mintz)在1985年出版的《甜与权力——糖在近代历史上的地位》一书中,直指蔗糖是个“两面派”:一面是出色的热量提供者,另一面因其致瘾性导致的过量食用问题,容易诱发多种疾病。

  

  人们意识到糖的危害,代糖产品便应运而生。在甜味剂领域,金禾实业产能全球领先:安赛蜜年产1.2万吨,处于全球绝对龙头地位;三氯蔗糖年产3000吨,排名全球第二,拟投二期5000吨项目,若顺利达产将跃居行业第一。

  

  几个月前刚从父亲手上接过重担的金禾实业董事长杨乐以“沧桑不改,痴心不改,岁月不改,真情不改”十六个字作为微信的个人签名,而这也正是金禾实业发展历程的缩影:这家市值过百亿元的全球甜味剂龙头,经历了数次战略调整和自我变革。

  

  “乐”在蓝海无边

  

  “上周,可口可乐总部的高级副总裁刚刚来过,希望进一步巩固合作关系。”谈到这件事,杨乐很自豪。金禾实业是可口可乐的甜味剂供应商,只要喝过可口可乐旗下的零度可乐或者健怡可乐,你就享受了金禾为你创造的无糖甜蜜生活。

  

  可口可乐在刚刚披露的半年报中称,受益于其无糖产品系列再次在全球范围内实现两位数销量增长的表现,公司二季度实现净收入100亿美元,同比增长6%。

  

  从生产商角度,甜味剂配方的改良不仅使口感得到优化,在产生相同甜度的前提下,甜味剂的添加成本约为蔗糖的5%,相比蔗糖具有明显的成本优势。以可乐为例,每100毫升的含糖量约为9克,一瓶500毫升的可乐共含糖45克。以每千克蔗糖5.4元的价格进行计算,一瓶500毫升、售价3元的可乐中,蔗糖的添加成本约为0.24元,蔗糖成本占零售价的8%。若将三氯蔗糖作为甜味来源,仅需0.015元,占可乐零售价的0.5%,三氯蔗糖成本优势显著。

  

  2012年,杨乐从美国留学归国时,国内食品饮料的货架上,无糖、低糖的产品寥寥无几,咖啡店里也没有代糖的甜味调味料可供选择。7年过去了,国内消费者的减糖意识正在逐步增强。

  

  “可乐在网上被戏称为‘肥宅快乐水’,是因为传统的碳酸饮料里面糖分很高,受蔗糖刺激后分泌的多巴胺在使人快乐的同时,也催人变胖。现在很多瘦身健身的人,会把可乐列为‘禁品’。糖,可以拒绝,但是谁会拒绝多巴胺呢?”杨乐笑称,那些点一杯奶茶还要为选全糖、半糖或三分糖而纠结的消费者群体,正是金禾发现的蓝海。

  

  在消费者低糖摄入需求增加,以及饮料、食品厂商降低成本的双重驱动下,甜味剂将进一步替代蔗糖和果葡糖浆。金禾实业的拳头产品安赛蜜、三氯蔗糖等新型甜味剂有望凭借安全性、口感更接近蔗糖等优势,逐步替代糖精、甜蜜素等传统甜味剂,该细分产业有着广阔的发展前景。

  

  “甜”入千家万户

  

  杨乐希望金禾实业能从幕后走向台前,离消费者更近一步。“原先金禾只做食品添加剂的原料供应商,现在越过中间环节,进入零售市场,直面C端。”

  

  金禾实业独立孵化的甜味调味料品牌爱乐甜(LeSweet)于7月初上线淘宝、京东等电商平台,主打“0%糖、0%脂肪、0%卡路里”概念。

  

  “为客户带来没有变成‘肥宅’负担的,只带来快乐的代糖产品。”杨乐介绍,考虑到爱乐甜的使用场景和用户的使用惯性,公司特别调整了产品配方:经过研发团队上千次的实验,复配使用赤藓糖醇、甜菊糖、三氯蔗糖、抗性糊精等国内外顶级原料,最终使得爱乐甜产品的甜度和白砂糖比是1:1,且口感无限接近白砂糖,且没有传统代糖产品的异味。这样的设计简化了用户迭代甜味调味料的难度,以前用多少白砂糖的量炒菜、烘焙,现在就用多少量的爱乐甜。

  

  “我们希望成为国内市场第一个吃螃蟹的人,不仅销售健康安全的代糖产品,做好用户下沉,打开市场;更要做好减糖相关的消费者教育,使国民拥有‘健康甜’的选择权。”

  

  2019年7月15日,国务院发布《健康中国2019-2030》发展规划,鼓励全社会“减盐、减油、减糖”,推进食品营养标准体系建设。而在杨乐看来,有国家相关政策的引导,代糖零售行业潜力巨大。

  

  若遵照2015年世界卫生组织发布的《指南:成人和儿童糖摄入量》要求,成人和儿童游离糖摄入量应降至总能量的10%以下,最好低于5%,换算后每日约合25克左右。而目前,中国人每天人均白砂糖的摄入量为50克到60克,远超这一标准。

  

  除了为完成减糖指标而选择代糖产品的普通人,还有一些糖尿病患者的刚性食甜需求也将得到满足。联合国世界卫生组织2018年底公布的数据显示,中国约有1.1亿的成年人糖尿病患者。在爱乐甜线上销售的用户评价留言栏上,不少人称,自己是糖尿病患者,或者家中有人是糖尿病患者,爱乐甜让他们重拾了甜的味觉。

  

  “创”出广阔天地

  

  禾,嘉谷也。二月开始生长,八月成熟,处四季之中,得阴阳之和。金禾实业为了更大的丰收,一直在自我“施肥”、进化、超越。

  

  2017年11月,公司曾与滁州市定远县政府签订《金禾实业循环经济产业园项目框架协议书》,拟在定远盐化工业园建设循环经济产业园。如今,年产1万吨糠醛、4万吨氯化亚砜和30兆瓦生物质热电的联产项目已先行建设完毕,进入调试阶段,年底前将进一步释放产能。后续公司将继续建设年产1万吨糠醛及其下游产品项目,引进2个新的香料品种——呋喃酮和佳乐麝香,目前已进行第一次环评公示。投产后,公司三氯蔗糖、麦芽酚都将形成上下游一体化产业链,成本进一步降低。单从三氯蔗糖这个产品来看,公司在原有生产工艺和技术优势的基础上,进一步实现产业链一体化后,成本将比同行节约20%以上。

  

  生产化工产品,需要用到酸和碱,进而产生氯化钠等危险废物。氯化钠又称废盐,一般只能拿去填埋矿山。金禾实业通过产业链上的优化,把废物提纯之后物尽其用,还可以卖给化肥厂创造效益。尽管这些配套设备前期投入花费不少,但是杨乐表示,“既环保,又实现了循环经济”的生产才是公司的愿景。

  

  风物长宜放眼量。对企业未来的发展,杨乐有自己的打算——“先模仿,再赶超,到领先。这三步,都需要自我变革。”这其中,创新是关键。

  

  “5月份去了日本,拜访了一些化工、材料这块的企业。其中有一家叫宇部化学的,给我的印象最深。它最早是挖煤的,后来发展煤化工,延伸产业链,生产大宗化学品原料,不断研发,不断深化,升级生产精细化工品。现在更进一步,营收集中在电子材料这块,包括半导体、新能源电碱液。”杨乐表示,金禾以化肥起家,之后“肥、化并举”,稳健成长了一段时间。2009年左右,专心化工,强调基础化工和精细化工协同发展,“把化肥这块撇掉了”。受益于改善产品结构这一战略调整,公司归母净利润从2012年的1.36亿元增至2018年的9.1亿元。“未来金禾实业将精耕精细化工领域,进一步深化基础化工产业链,增加产品附加值。”

  

  2011年,金禾实业曾以现金2.70亿元对华尔泰化工增资。2017年5月,为了减少基础化工业务占比,公司将持有的华尔泰化工55%股权以3.40亿元转让。剥离华尔泰的行为,彰显了公司向精细化工转型的决心。

  

  杨乐跟他的研发团队说:“有任何风险,我来把控,有任何责任,我来担着。一台从日本进口的小型检测设备,200万元人民币,买。可能实验了3年也出不了成果,没关系,做!”

  

  “谁不想只要鲜花和掌声呢?但是为了更长远的未来,我愿意期待,愿意信赖。”杨乐的眼里满是坚定。